L’Oréal Color Riche – Wild Purple

In keeping with the purple theme, I matched my nails to my ice cream.

L’Oréal Color Riche in number 505 Wild Purple was a gift from a friend. It is not a colour I would have necessarily picked out for myself, but I am so glad she did!

The 5ml bottle is something I like very much. I often despair at the 10ml and bigger bottles as I wonder when on earth I’ll have the time to finish them as I have quite a few different colours and usually stick with one colour for a whole week. I don’t think I have ever finished a bottle of nail varnish in my life. I may have gotten close, but by then it will have gone gloopy or worse, dried up completely.

I will be the first to admit that I didn’t think it was anything special in the bottle. One look told me all I needed to know – it was a dark purple, like an aubergine, with shimmer (so perhaps, a very shimmery aubergine).

On the nails, however, it was a completely different story. In shadow, it’s just a regular, plain purple, but the light shows it for what it truly is!

A myriad of micro-fine deep purple, pink, and fuchsia flecks are suspended in the purple base, giving shine and depth of colour. It is this pink tinge that it has that is really eye-catching. I could not bear to look away and was caught red-handed just staring stupidly at my nails by many. I wasn’t sure, at first, that I liked looking at the colour on my nails, but when I caught a glimpse of the colour reflected in a mirror, I thought it was truly beautiful. It is definitely a colour that grew on me, and now, I can’t wait to use it again!

I also found that it dried fairly quickly, which is definitely a  plus in my book.

On the flip side, I thought it chipped quite quickly at the edges, after a couple of days, but again, I’m still not using a topcoat; I’m sure that if I did, it would last longer, so I suppose I can’t complain. One bad thing about it (for me) is that I thought it smelt quite strong. I mean, I know all nail varnish smells, but I do remember thinking, Oh, that smells strong! when I used it.

Either way, it is definitely a colour I will be using again and again. If any aubergine were this colour, it would be the most beautiful aubergine in the world!

I hope you enjoyed reading this post. It did turn out a little weird, especially at the end… I blame the nail polish fumes.

Anyway, I hope you’ve had a lovely start to the month of November, and wish you a fantastic weekend.

Chuuu xoxo

P.S. Here are the photos for your perusal. Please ignore the varnish that has escaped from the nail bed onto my cuticles – it was a bad nail painting day – and please note that this is so much more beautiful in person.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

13 thoughts on “L’Oréal Color Riche – Wild Purple

    • Because… I’m lazy *insert very sheepish grin here*.
      I know it’s only one more layer, but I feel that it will make the drying time even longer, and then I always end up smudging it and getting sheet marks (which happens anyway, mind).
      But, I did have topcoat on my gorgeous Soul Sessions last week, and it really did make a difference! So, I’m a convert 😀

      • Oh yeah. I was the same until I discovered quick drying top coat – my diamond strength top coat took ages to dry and I just couldn’t be bovvered, honestly.
        Sheet marks! Oh my god. That used to be my nightmare. Not really because I was particularly vain or careful about my manis, but, when you spend even 20 mins on something, then hover around for 2 hours for it to dry, go to sleep AND wake up with sheet marks then you’re like *{€^$}${*%%\>!!
        What top coat are you using then, convert? : )

  1. That color does look very awesome and cute at the same time! First the pandas and now I’m hungry for purple
    Ice cream 😉 I should go check out that post again!

  2. luv purple polish this is so nice , not tried the loreal riche ones but makes me want to , i don’t think anyone in history has ever finished a nail varnish i know i haven’t

Leave a comment