The Sexiest of Superheroes

I’ve been a total waste of space over the past week. I haven’t been getting enough sleep, I’ve been out of it, and I can’t wait for my work day to be over before hurrying home – wait, the last one is true of most days!

The reason which has kept me from everything, including blogging, is this:

Image

No, I’m not joking.

I try not to let myself get into these phases. Earlier this year, it was a tough, though enjoyable, few weeks getting through all of the seasons of Sex and the City. I’m an all or nothing kind of girl, you see, and I can’t stop until I’ve either reached the end of the packet of biscuits, or the TV show that I’m currently obsessed with. I can’t help myself. Moderation is a word that doesn’t often find its way into my vocabulary.

So I’ve been though all 23 episodes of season 1 of “Arrow” in a week. Yes, I’m ashamed!

I’m so over action movies and superheroes; I’m really not that bothered. But I became very hot and bothered when I watched this.

I gave it a chance, and to make myself feel better and claim it was French listening practice, I watched it dubbed in French.

What was I thinking? I was hooked after the very first episode!

It has the right amount of suspense, action, drama and mystery to keep you coming back for more.

And, aside from enjoying all of the above, I have to admit that the man himself really does it for me. Oliver Queen, billionaire bad boy turned badass vigilante – what’s not to love? Actor Stephen Amell is pure perfection; poetry in motion. Brooding, battle scarred and inked with tattoos, full of tortured feelings, sporting designer stubble and flexing his big beautiful bulging muscles, which he shows off as he trains shirtless at least once an episode. Mmmm oh my…

I’m totally ready to make beautiful babies with him. And I don’t even like babies, so that’s saying a lot.

If I had to pick another character that I like a lot, I would have to say it’s Felicity Smoak. She’s super smart, tech savvy, and the funniest character by far. I love that whenever she opens her mouth, she’s sure to put her foot in it and things are bound to get awkward. In a series you would not call lighthearted by any stretch of the imagination, she provides something really wonderful.

Two of my favourite quotes:

Felicity [to Oliver]: Have you given any thoughts of what might happen if this doesn’t work and the Dodger absconds with your family jewels?— Episode: 1.15 “Dodger”

Felicity: It feels really good having you inside me. [pause, realises what she said] And by you, I mean your voice! [cringe] And by me, I mean my ear! [wincing] I’m going to stop talking now.

Oliver: That would be my preference.— Episode: 1.21 “The Undertaking

There is no doubt that I am truly, madly, deeply in love with this show, and with Oliver Queen – after all, he’s the sex.

Can’t wait for season 2!

Chuuu xoxo

9 thoughts on “The Sexiest of Superheroes

  1. Hehe, I’m so glad I’m not the only who HAS to watch until the last episode and I can come out of the closet now. I watched Haven a week ago, and it was 3 (3!) series. I couldn’t stop. But with Arrow, I confess, I started watching it when it was airing in the States, stopped after like four episodes (and I never do that, no matter how much a show bores me) because I couldn’t stand the brooding and the repetitiveness… Then, I heard John Barrowman was on the show, so I HAD to come back, watch all the episodes before him, to catch up with the storyline and I was hooked. But you know what happened to Barrowman’s character, so… Sorry for the rambling, but Arrow annoyed me in how much I disliked it, then liked it and then they do that to my Dark…. Urgh. : )

  2. Ohmygoddess I love this. Because, Haha, I was wailing (and in my case it was out loud, in my flat) ‘Noooooo, don’t, not the Dark Archer, noooo, I’ll seriously stop watching again!’ I was literally threatening the makers through my iPad. I’m serious. Gosh, It sounds even weirder when I write it down. Ah, whatever, I sense I’m in the company of weirdos too. (That’s a compliment, btw, just in case you felt like getting offended :P)
    So I assume you’re all geared up, waiting for season 2? (They didn’t annihilate YOUR favourite man, brooding and dependably shirtless :))

  3. I’m all or nothing too. It’s a way to be… I happen to like it. I need to watch this, I liked his character when he appeared in some of my Batman comics so I bought one of his but that didn’t really hit the spot… I have to start doing my research before I buy things. Have you seen the Watchmen film? I did last night and now have a minor obsession with Miss Jupiter (Jr&Snr). Hot. And kick ass.

Leave a comment